If you have any concerns regarding anyone in school's safety or welfare, please do not hesitate to contact the safeguarding team on 01977 642820 or via their email address:

· The designated safeguarding lead (DSL) for child protection (member of senior management) is: Deborah Birdsall (Headteacher). Contact details: email: headteacher@moorthorpe.wakefield.sch.uk

· The deputy DSLs are Janet Hardy (Learning Mentor) and Craig Thorpe (Assistant Head) Contact details: email: janet@moorthorpe.wakefield.sch.uk and cthorpe@moorthorpe.wakefield.sch.uk

· The mental health leads are Janet Hardy (Learning Mentor) and Lindsey Grace (Inclusion Officer) Contact details: email: janet@moorthorpe.wakefield.sch.uk 

and lgrace@moorthorpe.wakefield.sch.uk

· The Safeguarding governor is Melanie Edwards (Laura Wathey is covering the role until Jan 2022 ) Contact details: email: lwathey@moorthorpe.wakefield.sch.uk  

Contact details for the DSL team 07768138340 (work safeguarding mobile phone/ phone divert option over holidays).

Please also see our Mental Health and Wellbeing Page for more support and resources. 


Directory of Safeguarding Contacts:

  • Childline - 0800 1111
  • Children's First Hub (Featherstone & South East) Tel: 01977 722 305
    Email: cfhsoutheast@wakefield.gov.uk
  • NSPCC - 0808 800 5000 help@nscpcc.org.uk
  • Social Care Direct - 0345 850 3503
  • Samaritans - 116 123
  • Wakefield I Can (WF-I-Can) website - wf-i-can.co.uk